The Journal Gazette
Tuesday, June 05, 2018 1:00 am

Ex-Snider star Dunbar on College Hall ballot

DYLAN SINN | The Journal Gazette

Former Snider and Indiana running back Vaughn Dunbar is on the ballot for election to the College Football Hall of Fame in the Class of 2019, the College Football Foundation announced Monday.

Dunbar's 1986 season at Snider was one of the best by a running back in the history of the state. He led the Panthers to the state championship game with 40 rushing touchdowns and 2,495 yards on the ground, the 14th-highest total in Indiana history.

The 5-foot-10 running back played a year at Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College before transferring to Indiana, where he was a first-team All-American in 1991 after gaining more than 2,000 total yards. That season, he propelled the Hoosiers to their most recent bowl victory, a 24-0 rout of Baylor in the Copper Bowl.

The Saints selected Dunbar in the first round of the 1992 NFL Draft and he played in the league for four seasons. 

Joining Dunbar among the 82 players and coaches listed on the Hall of Fame ballot were former IU quarterback Antwaan Randle-El and former Notre Dame stars Raghib “Rocket” Ismail and Aaron Taylor.

Randle-El played for the Hoosiers from 1998 to 2001 and is already in the Indiana Athletic Hall of Fame. Like Dunbar, he was sixth in the Heisman Trophy voting in his final season with the Hoosiers, after passing for 1,664 yards and rushing for 964 more, while accounting for 17 total touchdowns. He was the first player in NCAA history to both rush and pass for 40 touchdowns.

Ismail was an all-purpose scoring weapon for the Irish from 1988 to '90 and finished in the Top 10 of the Heisman voting twice, including a second-place selection in 1990.

He returned five kickoffs and a punt for touchdowns in his college career, including two kickoffs in the same 1989 matchup against No. 2 Michigan.

Taylor was a two-time first-team All-American at guard with Notre Dame, in 1992 and 1993. In the latter season, he was a team captain and won the Lombardi Award as the best lineman or linebacker in the country.

The Hall of Fame's Class of 2019, which will include about 15 players and coaches, will be announced Jan. 7, the same day as the College Football Playoff National Championship.

Share this article

Email story

Subscribe to our newsletters

* indicates required