The Journal Gazette
Wednesday, January 08, 2020 1:00 am

High school football

Area well represented on All-State squads

Staff, news services

Sixteen players from Northeast Indiana were named to AP All-State Football first-teams in their respective classes, including two each from Bishop Dwenger, East Noble, West Noble and Adams Central.

The six classes were selected by a panel of Indiana sports writers and broadcasters with input from the Indiana Football Coaches Association.

The Class 6A first-team inlcudes Snider senior Randy Holtz at offensive line, Warsaw senior Harrison Mevis at kicker, Homestead senior Camden Rogers at linebacker and Carroll senior Trevor Horton at punter. 

In Class 5A, Bishop Dwenger senior Luke Wiginton was named to the first-team at offensive line and junior Devon Tippmann at linebacker.

Class 4A state runner-up East Noble was represented on the first-team by senior wide receiver Hayden Jones and defensive back Bailey Parker. Leo senior running back Peyton Wall and senior defensive back Ryan Brandt were also named to the first-team. 

West Noble senior Brandon Pruitt was named first-team Class 3A at linebacker and his brother, sophomore Braxton Pruitt, was named first-team as a defensive lineman. 

In Class 2A, Bluffton senior Kain Thornton was named first-team as a defensive lineman. 

The Class A first-team defensive line includes Adams Central junior Joseph Collier and South Adams senior Nick Miller. Flying Jets senior Dallas Schwaller was named first-team as a defensive back.

Elsewhere around the state, senior running back Charlie Spegal, who led New Palestine to two straight undefeated seasons, added another award to his growing list: A second straight appearance on the The Associated Press Class 5A all-state team.

 The 5-foot-11, 225-pound Spegal shattered state records for career yards (10,867) and career touchdown runs (173), becoming the first player in state history to produce two 3,000-yard seasons. Sammy Mireles of Elwood held the state's previous rushing record with 8,110 yards.

He led New Palestine to 28 consecutive wins and back-to-back state titles after leaving Delta following his sophomore season and set a national record in 2018 by running for 68 TDs.

As a result, Spegal was the runaway winner in the IndyStar Mr. Football Award balloting last month, was named the state's Gatorade player of the year and added another all-state selection to a resume that already included Class 4A honorable mention selections in 2016 and 2017 while playing for Delta.

Spegal didn't do all that by himself, of course. Two teammates, defensive lineman Kyle King and defensive back Maxen Hook, also made the Class 5A list.

And the state championship teams were again well-represented.

Western Boone quarterback Spencer Wright, the Mr. Football runner-up, and three of his teammates – receiver Connor Hole, offensive lineman Casey Foster and linebacker Brett Wethington – all were chosen.

Three seniors from state champion Carmel, including promising linebacker Ty Wise, were selected in Class 6A. Wise finished a distant third in the Mr. Football voting.

Running back Daylen Taylor led a group of five players from undefeated state champion Indianapolis Chatard on the Class 3A team while state finalists Lafayette Central Catholic and Indianapolis Lutheran combined to take eight of the 25 spots on the Class A team. Central Catholic captured the title by handing Lutheran its only loss of the season, 29-28, and both teams had four players named to the teams.

The question now for Spegal and other all-state selections is what happens next?

Spegal turned down scholarship offers from Army and Indiana State, opting instead to join the home-state Hoosiers as a preferred walk-on.

Sign up for our daily headlines newsletter

Top headlines are sent daily

Share this article